Almost two weeks down!

It has been almost two weeks since I’ve arrived in this beautiful city, and I’m slowly getting accustomed to it all. I finished my first week of classes Thursday afternoon and started the next just today. Now that I have settled in a bit more, I have been able to plan out some trips for the next month or so. I am very excited to be travelling around Europe since this is actually my first time here! This weekend, I’ll be going to Eindhoven and another city down south to visit Emily’s relatives. We’ll be celebrating Carnaval down there, so that should be fun! The weekend after, we’re planning to go to Belgium and right after I get back, I’ll be flying right out to Florence, Italy to visit my favorite, Sara for a week! I also bought my ticket to go to Prague in March with ISN today. It’s going to be a crazy, exciting month!

IMG_6680

Volendam & De Zaanse Schans
On Saturday, we went with ISN to two cities around the Netherlands: Volendam and Zaanse Schans. Volendam is a quaint little fishermen’s village in North Holland where we took photos in traditional Dutch clothing. We also ate some fish and I tried poffertjes for the first time, which are little mini pancakes! They were pretty darn good. I’m still a big, big fan of the waffles here though!

FullSizeRender (5)

After, we headed over to Zaanse Schans, another touristy location. We were able to see all the historic windmills, look at a bunch of clogs, and eat a ton of cheese. This probably would have been a little nicer if the weather wasn’t so gloomy!

IMG_6686  IMG_6683

Overall, it was a fun little trip I’m glad I took! It kind of boggled my mind that this was the first time I have actually left the city since I arrived. There is so much to do here in Amsterdam that actually made me forgot that there is even more outside of it! I still have so much left to see.

I’ll definitely try to blog more often, but I’ve been struggling to get my thoughts straight. Don’t worry though, there will be more. Until next time!

Eva

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

