First night in the Dam!

As I got on the plane to Texas, I was happily overwhelmed with goodbye and safe travels texts from some of my favorite people. Upon jetting down the runway, I decided to check my email one last time, just out of habit. I was incredibly shocked and thrilled to see that I had received an email from Ryan O’Rourke, one of the directors of Associated Fraternal Leadership and Values’ (AFLV) LeaderShape, notifying me that I have been chosen as one of the On-Site Coordinators for the session at UCLA in August. Many of you may not know, but I attended a session of the LeaderShape Institute on scholarship from my sorority just last summer and immediately fell in love with the program. So, to find out that I was selected as one of the coordinators to help assist with the upcoming session just as I was leaving was the absolute cherry on top of my day. Flying out to Amsterdam to start the greatest experience of my life (so far, anyway) and being able to go back to the place that has shaped me into the woman I am today… Life is wonderful!

My connecting flight to Amsterdam also went very well. I was able to sit in the middle row, aisle seat, while not having anyone in front of me, behind me, and even next to me. I managed to watch Bad Teacher and Sex Tape as well as a couple of Friends episodes too. The rest of my day went by fairly smoothly, with a couple of bumps in the road, of course. I made a couple of friends from around the world and even had someone to grab lunch with after moving into my apartment! Thanks Chris! Since we lived in the same building and are in the same faculty, Chris and I decided to check out the business school a bit, to get a feel of things and what our surroundings are. Luckily, our apartment building is right next to the school. Walking to classes is going to be a breeze but finding them, however, is another story. Although I didn’t quite like my apartment at first, I know it’ll grow on me. It’s a cute, cozy little apartment off Sarphatistraat, a word which I definitely need to learn how to pronounce. Don’t worry, I’m working on it. I knocked out for a couple of hours and was joined by roommate Daniella and her friend, whom which I both met while sleeping. Oops. Later on, Emily’s mom and aunt came by to take us to dinner. I was starving. As usual. We ended up at Majestic, a nice restaurant right in Dam Square.

ISN Introduction Week starts tomorrow and I have to start my day a little earlier and figure my life out. It’ll be interesting exploring the city a bit on my own before heading over to our meeting point. Overall, my first day was just alright. There were great parts and there were some not so great parts. Between not being able to enter my apartment, the crazy wind chill, and just being incredibly exhausted, I am ready for a much better second day in the city!

Eva

Edit: Oh! And the fact that getting a beer is cheaper than getting some water is ridiculous!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

